History

Laudate Dominum, the international church music week
Laudate Dominum was founded as the Archdiocesan Church Music Week of Vienna. The founding fathers were Peter Planyavsky, Hubert Dopf, and Erwin Ortner. In 2005, our conference moved to St. Pölten where we found the ideal education center in the “Hiphaus.” Together with the Vienna University of Music, it functions as the main organizing institution behind the conference. The tradition of a Diocesan Church Music Week ended in 2013. After this, the number of participants kept increasing, reaching 130 musicians coming to Laudate Dominum. Meanwhile, a full quarter of the participants come from outside of Austria. This is why we have started to offer individual voice coaching and private lessons (organ, improvisation) also in other languages (English, French, Swedish); certain elements of the choir sessions and the liturgies are being offered in English.
Apart from the full choir, various workshops in choral conducting (basic and advanced), a cantoring seminar, an organ seminar, chamber choirs, coaching sessions (rehearsal techniques, etc.) and individual lessons in voice and organ form the core of the program. Together with our widely-known clinicians, these seminars are the main attraction of Laudate Dominum. Only here you can experience the enriching interaction of professionals and music lovers in the field of sacred music. Also, the cooperation of the University of Music and the Conservatory with Laudate Dominum has a long-lasting effect on the success story.
Finally, our conference also functions as a perfect opportunity for (badly needed) musical exchange as most church musicians usually work at the same time and thus they rarely get a chance to discuss music. They also see it as a major source of inspiration – this is why we extend a cordial invitation to you to join us at next year’s conference in Austria!

Follow us

© 2018 Copyright by Laudate Dominum

Geschichte

Laudate Dominum, die internationale Kirchenmusikwoche

Laudate Dominum wurde 1982 als diözesane Kirchenmusikwoche von Peter Planyavsky, Hubert Dopf und Erwin Ortner ins Leben gerufen. Zuerst traf man sich in Eisenstadt, dann im BH Großrußbach im Weinviertel, das irgendwann zu klein wurde. Seit 2005 wird Laudate Dominum im BH St. Hippolyt in St. Pölten, das hervorragend für unsere Zwecke geeignet ist, durchgeführt. Seit einigen Jahren fungiert dieses Haus auch gemeinsam mit der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien als Träger der Woche; die Geschichte einer diözesanen Bildungswoche der ED Wien ging damit (2013) auch zu Ende. Danach wuchs der Teilnehmerstand bisweilen bis auf 130 an, wobei bereits ein Viertel der Gäste aus dem Ausland kommen. Durch diesen Umstand haben wir auch begonnen Einzelunterricht in Orgel und Stimmbildung in vielen Sprachen (darunter Englisch, Französisch und Schwedisch) anzubieten; viele Elemente des gemeinsamen Probens und der Liturgiefeiern werden auch in englischer Sprache gestaltet.

Heute bilden neben dem Gesamtchor die Workshops für Chorleitung (Basis und Fortgeschrittene), dem Kantorenseminar, dem Orgelseminar, den Workshops für chorische Stimmbildung, den Kammerchören sowie dem Einzelunterricht in Stimmbildung und Orgel/Improvisation gemeinsam unserem prominent besetzten Referententeam die Hauptanziehungspunkte von Laudate Dominum. Kaum irgendwo sonst spürt man das Zusammenwirken von Profis und Amateuren in der Kirchenmusik so wie bei uns. Dazu trägt auch die in anderen Ländern kaum gepflogene Kooperation mit der Musikuniversität und dem Konservatorium für Kirchenmusik in Wien maßgeblich bei.

Letztlich fungiert unsere Kirchenmusikwoche auch als hervorragendes Austauschforum vieler Kolleginnen und Kollegen, die sich sonst kaum begegnen, weil nun einmal alle beinahe gleichzeitig arbeiten. Viel Gutes ist daraus entstanden, viel Inspiration konnte in die eigene Arbeit mitgenommen werden. Darum laden wir Sie ganz herzlich ein beim kommenden Laudate Dominum dabei zu sein!

Follow us

© 2018 Copyright by Laudate Dominum